

Distr. **GENERAL** 

IDB.19/2

20 January 1998

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

# **Industrial Development Board**

Nineteenth session Vienna, 18-20 May 1998

# LISTS OF STATES INCLUDED IN ANNEX I TO THE CONSTITUTION OF UNIDO

Note by the Secretariat

- Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.
- As of 1 January 1998, 168 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 164 are shown in the Lists of States 2. to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following 4 States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

State	Date of accession
Tajikistan	9 June 1993
Uzbekistan	26 April 1994
Turkmenistan	16 February 1995
Kazakhstan	3 June 1997

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter will be brought to the attention of the Conference at its eighth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document GC.7/22/Rev.1.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

A. States from List A of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Bahrain Afghanistan Algeria Angola

V.98-50291 (E) (a:\1998\pmo.1)

Bangladesh

Egypt Equatorial Guinea Benin

Eritrea Bhutan Botswana Ethiopia Burkina Faso Fiji Burundi Gabon Gambia Cambodia Ghana Cameroon Cape Verde Guinea Guinea-Bissau Central African Republic India

Chad China Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of) Comoros

Congo Iraq Côte d'Ivoire Israel Democratic People's Jordan Republic of Korea Kenya Democratic Republic of Kuwait the Congo Kyrgyzstan

Lao People's Democratic Djibouti

Republic Lebanon Lesotho Liberia

Saudi Arabia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Madagascar Senegal Malawi Seychelles Sierra Leone Malaysia Maldives Somalia Mali Sri Lanka Mauritania Sudan

Swaziland Mongolia Syrian Arab Republic

Morocco Thailand Mozambique Togo Myanmar Tonga Namibia Tunisia Uganda Nepal

United Arab Emirates Niger Nigeria United Republic Oman of Tanzania Pakistan Vanuatu Papua New Guinea Viet Nam

Philippines Yemen Yugoslavia<sup>a</sup> Qatar Republic of Korea Zambia Rwanda Zimbabwe

Sao Tome and Principe

Mauritius

## B. States from List B of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Austria Germany Malta Sweden Belgium Greece Netherlands Switzerland Cyprus Ireland New Zealand Turkey

United Kingdom of Denmark Italy Norway Great Britain and Finland Japan Portugal France Luxembourg Spain Northern Ireland

#### C. States from List C of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Belize Chile Argentina Bahamas Bolivia Colombia Barbados Brazil Costa Rica CubaHondurasSaint Vincent andDominicaJamaicathe GrenadinesDominican RepublicMexicoSuriname

Ecuador Nicaragua Trinidad and Tobago El Salvador Panama Uruguay

El Salvador Panama Grenada Paraguay Guatemala Peru

Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis

Haiti Saint Lucia

### D. States from List D of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Venezuela

Albania Bulgaria Lithuania Slovakia Armenia Croatia Poland Slovenia

Azerbaijan Czech Republic Republic of Moldova The former Yugoslav Romania Republic of Macedonia

Bosnia and Herzegovina Hungary Russian Federation Ukraine

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Concerning Yugoslavia, see resolution GC/S.1/Res.1 adopted by the General Conference at its first special session.