

Distr.: General 23 March 2009

Original: English

## **Programme and Budget Committee**

Twenty-fifth session

Vienna, 5-7 May 2009

# **Lists of States included in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO**

## Note by the Secretariat

- 1. Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.
- 2. As of 11 December 2008, 173 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 170 are shown in the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following three States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

StateDate of accessionTajikistan9 June 1993Turkmenistan16 February 1995

Samoa 11 December 2008

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter will be brought to the attention of the General Conference at its thirteenth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document IDB.35/17.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

V.09-81980 (E)



#### A. States included in List A

Afghanistan Equatorial Guinea Madagascar Senegal Algeria Eritrea Malawi Seychelles Angola Ethiopia Malaysia Sierra Leone Bahrain Maldives Somalia Fiji Bangladesh South Africa Gabon Mali Benin Gambia Mauritania Sri Lanka Bhutan Ghana Mauritius Sudan Botswana Guinea Mongolia Swaziland Burkina Faso Guinea-Bissau Morocco Syrian Arab Republic

Burundi India Mozambique Thailand Cambodia Indonesia Myanmar Timor-Leste Iran (Islamic Republic of) Cameroon Namibia Togo Cape Verde Nepal Tonga Central African Republic Niger Tunisia Israel Nigeria Uganda Chad Jordan

China Oman United Arab Emirates Kazakhstan Comoros Kenya Pakistan United Republic Congo Kuwait Papua New Guinea of Tanzania Côte d'Ivoire Kyrgyzstan Philippines Uzbekistan Lao People's Democratic Democratic People's Oatar Vanuatu Republic of Korea Republic Republic of Korea Viet Nam Democratic Republic of Lebanon Rwanda Yemen the Congo Lesotho Sao Tome Zambia Djibouti Liberia and Principe Zimbabwe Egypt Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Saudi Arabia

#### B. States included in List B

Greece Netherlands Austria Turkey Belgium Ireland New Zealand United Kingdom of Great Britain and Cyprus Italy Norway Denmark Portugal Northern Ireland Japan Finland Luxembourg Spain France Malta Sweden Germany Monaco Switzerland

### C. States included in List C

Cuba Saint Vincent and Argentina Honduras Bahamas the Grenadines Dominica Jamaica Barbados Dominican Republic Mexico Suriname Belize Ecuador Nicaragua Trinidad and Tobago Bolivia El Salvador Panama Uruguay Brazil Grenada Paraguay Venezuela (Bolivarian Chile Guatemala Peru Republic of)

Colombia Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis

Costa Rica Haiti Saint Lucia

## D. States included in List D

Albania Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria

Croatia Czech Republic Georgia Hungary Lithuania Montenegro

Poland Republic of Moldova Romania

Russian Federation

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Ukraine